Teacher Feature

Ohio Academy of Science Logo

Ottawa Hills Math, Science and Technology Departments

The Ohio Academy of Science recently selected 61 Ohio schools and 672 teachers to receive The Governor's Thomas Edison Awards for Excellence in STEM Education and Student Research for their accomplishments during the 2017-2018 school year.
First established in 1985, the Governor’s Thomas Edison Award recognizes Ohio schools and teachers who stimulate scientific student research and technological design and extend opportunities beyond traditional classroom activities. Students must participate in one or more youth science opportunities beyond the classroom, including State Science Day, The Ohio Academy of Science Annual Meeting, Buckeye Science and Engineering Fair, Science Olympiad, and other structured STEM-related youth activities.
Logo for the Ohio Academy of Science“These schools and teachers push the boundaries of the traditional classroom by advising and mentoring student originated research and other hands-on experiences,” said Michael E. Woytek, the Academy’s CEO. The Ohio Academy of Science initiated this educational partnership program in cooperation with The Office of The Governor and The Technology Division of The Ohio Development Services Agency to recognize schools and teachers for excellence in STEM education and scientific student research.
Forty professionals - broadly representing STEM employers from business, industry, government, and academia - evaluated the applications in a review process. For more information about the Ohio Academy of Science, please visit its website at http://www.ohiosci.org.
Ottawa Hills STEM-related teachers include: Tim Adkins, Gerry Davis, Patty Dowd, Diane Drabek, Daniel Feuerstein, Paul Genzman, Mary Kate Hafemann, Joan Keckler, Michael Leeds, Jeremy Nixon, Liz Puskala, Nicole Silvers, and Tony Torio.
Ottawa Hills Junior/Senior High School has received this award six times in the last seven years. Congratulations!

© 2020 Ottawa Hills Local School District