Skip To Main Content

Distinguished Alumni Award

The Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes former students who have made a meaningful contribution to society, and whose accomplishments, affiliations, and careers have honored the tradition of excellence at Ottawa Hills. The award recognizes alumni who have made significant accomplishments in the following areas while maintaining high standards in personal integrity and character: an outstanding leader in his or her field; service to his or her community and humanity through local, state, national, or international organizations; and/or demonstrated exemplary accomplishments in the arts, education, government, science, business, or public service.

2021 Inductees

Recognized at a dinner Friday, Sept. 10, 2021, at The Toledo Country Club.

2020 Inductees

Recognized at a dinner Friday, Sept. 10, 2021, at The Toledo Country Club.

2019 Inductees

Honored at a dinner Friday, Sept. 20, 2019, at the Junior/Senior High School.

2018 Inductees

2017 Inductees (Inaugural Class)

Inductees and their representatives (pictured left to right below): Former OH art teacher Steve Wipfli, who accepted the award on behalf of the late Richard DeVore (’51), worldrenown ceramicist; Russell Carson (’61), businessman and community leader; Mrs. Ellen Staelin, who accepted the award on behalf of her late husband, David Staelin (’56), MIT professor and co-discoverer of the Crab Nebula pulsar; John Galbraith (’41), long-time Ohio legislator and the last surviving member of Ottawa Hills’ first graduating class; Christine Brennan (’76), award-winning national sports journalist; Sally Stuckey (’74), technology innovator; and Craig Burkhart (’69), leader in dermatological medicine, author of numerous medical publications, and holder of multiple patents. They were honored at a dinner Oct. 20, 2017.

2017 - Inaugural members of the Distinguished Alumni Award